What does my eyelasses prescription means?Β 

Looking back from my old post in Instagram

I was using eyeglasses since 2013. The grade was only R: 75; L:50 + astigmatism (that’s how they give grade in the Philippines) but I don’t actually use my eyeglasses then, I only used it whenever I review my notes, I read my lessons or whenever I can feel my eyes are sore. 

Since, I’m not using it, I can feel that I can’t see far objects clearly, I let my friends dictate to me what’s on the board because I see them as blur, I recognize colors as very light colors and it’s hard for me to open my eyes whenever I’m under the sun. I then decided to visit the eye clinic again after two years which made me surprise because the grade became higher more than I expected (R:125; L:100) and beside from the astigmatism, nearsightedness was diagnosed. 

Lesson learned: wear your eyeglasses as often as you can. And have time to have a regular check-up for your eyes for atleast every 6months or 1 year.

Coming back to the present (June 2017, Dammam KSA), I walked going to the Dispensary last week to let an opthalmologist check my eyes. [PS: The Dispensary is only approx. 200m away from our house, that’s why I only walked going there… alone… Yeah! Who said that you can’t walk along the streets, alone, when you’re in the Kingdom? May he/she doesn’t experience it] [Going back…]  The Doctor was Egyptian, He was so cool because he knew some Tagalog words. As expected, my grade became higher and I need another eyeglasses again. Unluckily, the dispensary don’t have eyeglasses that’s why the Doctor gave me a prescription which I need to do in an eyeglasses store. 

The prescription goes like this:

Since I can’t understand what those numbers and abv. are, I then decided to search in the google what those really means. Here’s what I had learned:

Sphere (SPH). This indicates the amount of lens power, measured in diopters (D), prescribed to correct nearsightedness or farsightedness. If the number appearing under this heading has a minus sign (–), you are nearsighted; if the number has a plus sign (+) or is not preceded by a plus sign or a minus sign, you are farsighted.

The term “sphere” means that the correction for nearsightedness or farsightedness is “spherical,” or equal in all meridians of the eye.

Cylinder (CYL). This indicates the amount of lens power for astigmatism. If nothing appears in this column, either you have no astigmatism, or your astigmatism is so slight that it is not really necessary to correct it with your eyeglass lenses.

The term “cylinder” means that this lens power added to correct astigmatism is not spherical, but instead is shaped so one meridian has no added curvature, and the meridian perpendicular to this “no added power” meridian contains the maximum power and lens curvature to correct astigmatism.

* For the AXIS, let’s just leave it there. 

In my conclusion, for the Sphere, I have nearsighted for my both eyes and for the Cylinder, I have astigmatism for my both eyes too.

On the other hand, I visited Rose Eyes Opticals, which is located to Seiko Dammam and choose the eyeglasses that’s suitable for my face. Believe me, choosing was the hardest because they have a lot of choices. Luckily, the owner is very accomodating because he let me choose and wear whatever I want to try. But unfortunately, the store don’t accept insurance card so I need to pay for all. But still, it’s okay because it’s more cheaper here than in The Philippines.

By the way, I let the shop checked the grade of my old eyeglasses. So here’s my old and new eyeglasses with their (different) prescription:

Going back to the prescription which the Dr.gave to me, the -1.75 Cylinder for the right was too high for me that’s why I let the shop adjusted it into -1.50…

Comparing from my old vs new prescription, my nearsighted became higher for my Right Eye and my astigmatism gets higher for my left. Fortunately, it’s not that high because I’m using them as often as I can now. 

I’m looking forward for the days that I will no longer need to wear my graded eyeglasses and my vision will go back to 20/20. Oh! I will hope and pray that I’ll have a chance to have laser or lasik surgery for my eyes. In Jesus’ Name. ☝

Here are some of my pictures while using my new Gucci eyeglasses:

That’s me wanting to wear those dresses at the back without needing to wear abaya (the black one I’m using) #perksofstayinginthekingdom

I’m still smiling even the temperature is 44Β°C. πŸ˜‚
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

